The MAHC Capital Redevelopment Committee recently passed a motion to recommend that the Board of Directors amend the hospital redevelopment plan to include an additional 10 acute care beds at the Bracebridge site. This will bring the total number of acute care beds up to 46, and this recommendation will be considered by the board at their October 10<sup>th</sup> meeting.

While this proposed revision does not completely meet the expectations that were outlined in the Care Close to Home model, we are encouraged by this significant improvement. We are thankful for the strong community advocacy that has taken place by the public and the support of our local politicians. Specifically, we recognize that our MPP Graydon Smith has been working hard behind the scenes to support and protect healthcare in our community.

Should the Board approve this revision, it is our opinion that 46 acute care beds will be able to service the basic acute care needs for South Muskoka, especially if there are options for expansion should our future needs change. We are further encouraged by the involvement of the District of Muskoka in helping find local, nonhospital solutions for our ALC (alternative level of care) patients. This multi-faceted approach will help to create efficient and effective healthcare for our community.

When the hospital redevelopment proposal was made public in January, only 14 acute care beds were planned for the Bracebridge site. It is only through the several months of advocacy by our community, municipal politicians, and MPP Smith that we are now up to 46 acute care beds. This revised plan is much more viable for the long-term sustainability of our local acute care hospital. MPP Smith has been a strong presence to this point, and we are confident that he will continue to advocate for Muskoka at a provincial level as redevelopment planning continues onto the next stages.

We thank the public for their ongoing support, and hope that the Board of Directors will pass this recommendation on October 10<sup>th</sup>.

Dr. Scott Whynot	Dr. Kent Phillips	Dr. Keith Moran	Dr. Tom Irvine
Dr. Graeme Gair	Dr. David McGregor	Dr. Paulette Burns	Dr. Terry Holman
Dr. James Moran	Dr. Terry Bridle	Dr. Kim Forester	Dr. Ardyn Todd
Dr. Shane Williams	Dr. Florian Kirstein	Dr. Courtney Potts	Dr. Chris Richardson
Dr. John Rhee	Dr. Cole Krensky	Dr. Jessica Reid	Dr. William Caughey
Dr. Alex Webb	Dr. Kersti Kents	Dr. Bharti Mittal	Dr. Tony Drohomyrecky
Dr. Sandi Adamson	Dr. Timea Maxim	Dr. Rohit Gupta	Dr. Michael Mason
Dr. William Hemens	Dr. Victoria Dawson	Dr. Kristen Jones	Dr. Luke Wu
Dr. Martin O'Shaughnessy		Dr. Jessica Nairn	Dr. Vicki Dechert
Dr Ken Hotson	Dr. Jennifer Hammell	Dr. Stephen Rix	Dr. Christopher LaJeunessse
Dr. Jeff Pitcher	Dr. Tina Kappos	Dr. Joe Gleeson	Dr. Rand Simpson
Dr. Faizal Bawa	Dr. Keith Cross		